What The 5K

Home » San Francisco Marathon » San Francisco Marathon Playlist

San Francisco Marathon Playlist

After my first marathon experience at Walt Disney World Marathon, I wanted to know how I could do when I hadn’t run races for three days before. So, I decided to sign up for Chicago Marathon. Not long after that, Katherine at http://mouserunner.blogspot.com/ encouraged me to run the San Francisco Marathon. I feel pretty crazy to be running three marathons in one year, not to mention running one just 2 1/2 months before my goal marathon, but I decided I’ll take San Francisco just a little easier than I otherwise would and use it to assess my readiness and weaknesses for Chicago.

In preparation for San Francisco, I’ve put together my playlist. Naturally, this playlist has a bit less Disney than my Dopey Challenge Walt Disney World Marathon Playlists. I added some music themed for California and San Francisco and timed the music for the race, with specific music at specific points on the course.


The course is notoriously hilly, with almost 1000 feet of elevation gain. The first half of the course is a net uphill and the second half is a net downhill. I’m planning to run the first half a bit slower, conserving energy in the first few miles, managing the uphill climbs in the middle few miles and then let loose and cruise to the finish on the last few miles.

The first couple miles of the course follow the waterfront, so I’ve got some music from Pirates of the Caribbean. I also threw in some music from The Rock when I should be getting a view of Alcatraz. As I approach the Presidio, I should pass the Walt Disney Family Museum and I timed a piece from Saving Mr. Banks at that point, followed by Star Wars as I pass Lucasfilm.

I picked some music from Master and Commander for the run across the Bay over the Golden Gate Bridge and back, with some glorious, inspiring music for the rise up to Vista Point. I’m marking the halfway point with a celebratory anthem from Thor, followed by a couple of pieces from a pair of Star Trek movies, which are set in San Francisco. I’ll pass Kezar Stadium to music from Forrest Gump and Rudy, then celebrate stepping out of Kezar Tunnel to Step Out. Then I’ll cruise through Haight Ashbury, a quintessential San Francisco neighborhood, and look out over the city from the top of a big hill to San Francisco  by The Mowgli’s. From there, it’s about 6 miles of uptempo music for my run downhill to the finish.

Feel free to take a look at my playlist and let me know if you find something new for yours.

San Francisco Marathon

Name Artist Album
You Know Nothing Ramin Djawadi Game of Thrones (Music from the HBO® Series) Season 3
Mhysa Ramin Djawadi Game of Thrones (Music from the HBO® Series) Season 3
One Day Hans Zimmer Pirates of the Caribbean: At World’s End (Soundtrack from the Motion Picture)
Hummell Gets the Rockets Nick Glennie-Smith, Hans Zimmer & Harry Gregson-Williams The Rock (Original Motion Picture Score)
Mason’s Walk-First Launch Nick Glennie-Smith, Hans Zimmer & Harry Gregson-Williams The Rock (Original Motion Picture Score)
At Wit’s End Hans Zimmer Pirates of the Caribbean: At World’s End (Soundtrack from the Motion Picture)
The Magic Kingdom Thomas Newman Saving Mr. Banks (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack)
The Rebel Fleet; End Title John Williams: London Symphony Orchestra Star Wars: The Empire Strikes Back [Disc 2]
Drink Up Me Hearties Yo Ho Hans Zimmer Pirates of the Caribbean: At World’s End (Soundtrack from the Motion Picture)
The Far Side Of The World Iva Davies, Christopher
Gordon & Richard Tognetti
Master And Commander
Sunshine (Adagio in D Minor) John Murphy Sunshine (Adagio in D Minor) – Single
Outro M83 Hurry Up, We’re Dreaming.
Smoke N’Oakum Iva Davies, Christopher
Gordon & Richard Tognetti
Master And Commander
Into The Fog Iva Davies, Christopher
Gordon & Richard Tognetti
Master And Commander
Boccherini: La Musica Notturna Delle Strade Di Madrid No. 6 Op. 30 Richard Tognetti: Violin 1 / Bruce Dukov: Violin 2 / Simon Oswell: Viola / Steve Erdody: Violoncello 1 / Timothy Landauer: Violoncello 2 Master And Commander
Up Is Down Hans Zimmer Pirates of the Caribbean: At World’s End (Soundtrack from the Motion Picture)
What Are You Going to Do When You Are Not Saving the World? Hans Zimmer Man of Steel: Original Motion Picture Soundtrack (Deluxe Edition)
What Shall We Die For Hans Zimmer Pirates of the Caribbean: At World’s End (Soundtrack from the Motion Picture)
Main Title/Takeoff James Horner The Rocketeer
Promentory Trevor Jones The Last Of The Mohicans
Oil Rig Hans Zimmer Man of Steel (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack) [Deluxe Edition]
Terraforming Hans Zimmer Man of Steel (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack) [Deluxe Edition]
Hammer Found Patrick Doyle Thor (Soundtrack from the Motion Picture)
Thor Kills the Destroyer Patrick Doyle Thor (Soundtrack from the Motion Picture)
Star Trek IV: The Voyage Home The City of Prague
Philharmonic Orchestra
The Science Fiction Album (Box Set)
Enterprising Young Men Michael Giacchino Star Trek (Music from the Motion Picture)
Sons of Odin Patrick Doyle Thor (Soundtrack from the Motion Picture)
Parlay Hans Zimmer Pirates of the Caribbean: At World’s End (Soundtrack from the Motion Picture)
I Don’t Think Now Is the Best Time Hans Zimmer Pirates of the Caribbean: At World’s End (Soundtrack from the Motion Picture)
Davy Jones Hans Zimmer Pirates of the Caribbean: Dead Man’s Chest (Soundtrack from the Motion Picture)
Earth to Asgard Patrick Doyle Thor (Soundtrack from the Motion Picture)
Soarin’ Jerry Goldsmith Disney’s California Adventure
Beautiful Day U2 U218 Singles (Deluxe Version)
Angel Massive Attack Mezzanine
Tryouts Jerry Goldsmith Rudy
The Crimson Gump Alan Silvestri Forrest Gump
Step Out José González The Secret Life of Walter Mitty (Music From and Inspired By the Motion Picture)
Dirty Paws Of Monsters and Men My Head Is An Animal
San Francisco The Mowgli’s Waiting For the Dawn
Girls Like You The Naked and Famous Passive Me, Aggressive You
The Sun The Naked and Famous Passive Me, Aggressive You
Madness Muse The 2nd Law (Deluxe Version)
Desperation (feat. Jamie N Commons) Eminem The Marshall Mathers LP2 (Deluxe)
Below My Feet Mumford & Sons Babel (Deluxe Edition)
I Will Wait Mumford & Sons Babel (Deluxe Edition)
Shake It Out Florence + The Machine Ceremonials
Feeling Good Muse Origin of Symmetry
Supremacy Muse The 2nd Law
You Know My Name Chris Cornell You Know My Name – Single
All I Do Is Win (feat. T-Pain, Ludacris, Snoop Dogg & Rick Ross) DJ Khaled Victory (Deluxe Edition)
2 Comments

  1. lnrbailey says:

    I listened to I Will Wait as I flew over the GGB on my return. It felt like I was flying. That would be my only recommendation other than having the best freaking time EVER.

    • WhatThe5K says:

      Thanks, Lauren! I feel like I’m in the mood for something a little more seafaring for the bridge. But don’t you worry, I’ll be flying to I Will Wait on a nice downhill at mile 23.

Leave a Reply

